A New Beginning: Long Island City in the Fog

Long Island City

My 2013 New Year’s Resolution was to start blogging. It is now October 2013. I guess, better late than never. The main purpose of this blog is pretty similar to my main reason for pursuing photography as a hobby: to capture what I experience on a day to day basis. As a result, I hope this blog will achieve the dual purpose of explaining my thought process behind my photos and also explain how I achieved the end result.

This was taken from the roof lounge at 47-20 Center Boulevard at around 11 p.m. on October 5, 2013. The fog creates a great diffuser for the Midtown lights and creates a contrast to the sharp red light of the Pepsi sign.  I love the purple light coming from the Bloomberg Tower.

This photo was taken with a Fuji x100s balanced on the roof’s ledge. I didn’t have a tripod with me or a remote control. As a result, it was balanced on the ledge with a remote timer set to 2 seconds to reduce shutter shake.

Exif data

Camera Fujifilm X100S
Exposure 30
Aperture f/8.0
Focal Length 23 mm
ISO Speed 400
Exposure Bias 0 EV
Leave a Reply

